Gluten-free diet - simple.LinkFang.org

Gluten-free diet




A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and possibly oats. Most breads, cakes, pastas/noodles, beers and pizzas are made with gluten. Gluten is used as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent. It is often called "dextrin". Some non-foods, such as medications and vitamin supplements, especially those in tablet form, may contain gluten as a binding agent.[1][2]

A gluten-free diet is the only medically accepted treatment for wheat allergy and coeliac disease (in North America, it is usually spelled "celiac disease").

Some gluten-free diets also exclude oats. Doctors do not agree on whether oats affect coeliac disease sufferers.[3][4][5][6][7][8][9] Many alcoholic beverages are gluten free, but many types of whiskey and beer contain gluten, because using grains is a necessary part of their production.[10] Gluten-free diets have become popular worldwide. Some say that such a diet can cause problems with Vitamin B and magnesium intake by the body, because wheat improves the rate in which humans body can use them.[11] Gluten-containing ingredients sometimes are used as colorants, preservatives and thickeners in products such as ice cream and ketchup. Even some cosmetics like lip-balm and lipsticks can contain gluten, so persons wanting to follow such a diet need to learn about which products contain wheat and its byproducts.

References


  1. "Frequently Asked Questions" . IPC Americas Inc . February 27, 2008. Archived from the original on April 11, 2008. Retrieved April 15, 2008. External link in |publisher= (help)
  2. "Excipient Ingredients in Medications" . Gluten Free Drugs . November 3, 2007. Retrieved April 15, 2008. External link in |publisher= (help)
  3. N Y Haboubi, S Taylor, S Jones (2006). "Celiac disease and oats: a systematic review" . The Fellowship of Postgraduate Medicine.CS1 maint: multiple names: authors list (link)
  4. ""The Gluten-Free Diet" – CeliacSociety.com" .
  5. Arentz-Hansen, Helene; Burkhard Fleckenstein; Øyvind Molberg; Helge Scott; Frits Koning; Günther Jung; Peter Roepstorff; Knut E. A. Lundin; Ludvig M. Sollid (October 19, 2004). "The Molecular Basis for Oat Intolerance in Patients with Coeliac Disease" . PLoS Medicine. PLoS Medicine. 1 (1): e1. doi:10.1371/journal.pmed.0010001 . PMC 523824 . PMID 15526039 . Retrieved July 22, 2006.CS1 maint: display-authors (link)
  6. Størsrud, S (May 7, 2002). "Adult celiac patients do tolerate large amounts of oats" . European Journal of Clinical Nutrition. 57 (1). doi:10.1038/sj.ejcn.1601525 . PMID 12548312 . Retrieved August 14, 2008. Unknown parameter |coauthors= ignored (|author= suggested) (help)
  7. Janatuinen, E K; T A Kemppainen; R J K Julkunen; V-M Kosma; M Mäki; M Heikkinen; M I J Uusitupa (May 1, 2002). "No harm from five-year ingestion of oats in celiac disease" . GUT Journal Online. Retrieved August 14, 2008.
  8. "The Scoop on Oats" . Celiac Sprue Association (CSA). February 20, 2008.
  9. Mohsid, Rashid (June 8, 2007). "Guidelines for Consumption of Pure and Uncontaminated Oats by Individuals with Coeliac Disease" . Professional Advisory Board of Canadian Coeliac Association. Retrieved August 14, 2008.
  10. "Celiac.com Celiac Disease: (Is Beer Gluten-Free and Safe for People with Celiac Disease?) Gluten-Free" . Archived from the original on May 13, 2006.
  11. "Gluten Free Diet for Beginners - In plain English to help you easily understand what a gluten Free diet is" . Gluten Free Diet for Beginners - In plain English to help you easily understand what a gluten Free diet is.

Other websites










Categories: Nutrition








Information as of: 24.05.2020 12:18:54 CEST

Source: Wikipedia (Authors [History])    License : CC-by-sa-3.0

Changes: All pictures and most design elements which are related to those, were removed. Some Icons were replaced by FontAwesome-Icons. Some templates were removed (like “article needs expansion) or assigned (like “hatnotes”). CSS classes were either removed or harmonized.
Wikipedia specific links which do not lead to an article or category (like “Redlinks”, “links to the edit page”, “links to portals”) were removed. Every external link has an additional FontAwesome-Icon. Beside some small changes of design, media-container, maps, navigation-boxes, spoken versions and Geo-microformats were removed.

Please note: Because the given content is automatically taken from Wikipedia at the given point of time, a manual verification was and is not possible. Therefore LinkFang.org does not guarantee the accuracy and actuality of the acquired content. If there is an Information which is wrong at the moment or has an inaccurate display please feel free to contact us: email.
See also: Legal Notice & Privacy policy.